Top Posts
Home Culture Jeffrey Lewis & Los Bolts Announce US Tour Support, Watch ‘Sad Screaming Old Man’ Video

Jeffrey Lewis & Los Bolts Announce US Tour Support, Watch ‘Sad Screaming Old Man’ Video

written by Mark Doyle November 1, 2016

Jeffrey Lewis & Los Bolts announce US tour dates

‘Manhattan’ out now on Rough Trade Records

“Hands down my favorite contemporary songwriter” – Ben Gibbard of Death Cab For Cutie

“The best lyricist working in the US today.” – Jarvis Cocker of Pulp

“Really great and impressive and inspiring and exciting… There’s not a lot of people that can tell a story and use language like that in music.” – Will Oldham

Watch ‘Sad Screaming Old Man’ video

Listen to ‘Outta Town’

Jeffrey Lewis & Los Bolts have announced a US tour in support of Manhattan (Rough Trade Records) the seventh album by incomparable comic book writer, artist, and musician, Jeffrey Lewis. His band has a multi-faceted existence, exploring a stylistic swath from contemplative folk narratives to distortion-fueled garage rock to soundscape abstractions and more, usually all within any given ten-minute period. Most often a trio (though occasionally just Jeffrey solo, or as a duo, and on some tours as a four-piece), the Jeffrey Lewis group has shuffled its name a number of times over the years, in 2015 becoming Jeffrey Lewis & Los Bolts featuring Mem Pahl on bass and Brent Cole on drums.

These various formations (often in the past featuring Jeffrey’s brother Jack on bass) have toured the world from Los Angeles to London, Berlin to Beijing, Melbourne to Moscow, Houston to Ho Chi Minh City, blowing minds all along the way and sometimes sharing stages or full tours with the likes of Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks, Devendra Banhart, Devo, The Mountain Goats, Thurston Moore, The Fall, The Vaselines, Roky Erickson, Pulp, Beth Orton, Frank Black, The Fiery Furnaces, Daniel Johnston, Dr. Dog, Akron/Family, Jarvis Cocker and many other luminaries. Live shows often incorporate “low budget videos”, Jeffrey’s large illustrations displayed to accompany certain songs, such as Jeffrey’s educational multi-part “History of Communism” or flights of fancy like “The Creeping Brain.”

Made with John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr., Phosphorescent, War On Drugs) and Brian Speaker, Manhattan is an album both named after and directly inspired by New York City, but is no regionalized curio. It’s the very specificity of the details Lewis uses to depict his characters and situations that make his songs so evocative, and emotionally rich. Manhattan is both about and not about New York City; Lewis is both a lifelong resident and a detached observer of his hometown; but ultimately, it’s a simple treatment of human moments by one of our sharpest songwriting talents.

On tour:

12 November – Akron, OH at Hive Mind
13 November – Detroit, MI at PJ’s Lager House
14 November – Chicago, IL at Subterranean
15 November – Omaha, NE at Reverb
16 November – Denver, CO at The Hi-Dive
17 November – Salt Lake City, UT at Diabolical Records
18 November – Boise, ID at TBD
19 November – Portland, OR at Analog Cafe
20 November – Seattle, WA at Substation
21 November – Vancouver, BC at Toast Collective
22 November – Olympia, WA at Le Voyeur
23 November – Eugene, OR at Wandering Goat
24 November – Ashland, OR at Video Explorer
25 November – Arcata, CA at The Miniplex at Richard’s Goat
26 November – San Francisco, CA at Hemlock Tavern
27 November – Los Angeles, CA at The Smell
28 November – Tempe, AZ at 51 West
30 November – Austin, TX at Beerland
1 December – Tulsa, OK at Vanguard
2 December – St Louis, MO at San Loo
3 December- Bloomington, IN at The Void
4 December – Pittsburgh PA at Howlers


Rough Trade

Related Articles